PYHÄ KUOLEMA - Kevättuulisormi Album Due In September; Track Streaming

Hot Flashes

Posted on Monday, August 26, 2013 at 15:28:50 EST

On September 20th, PYHÄ KUOLEMA will release the new album, Kevättuulisormi, through Svart Records in Europe and the UK and through Pesanta Urfolk in North America. Pyhä Kuolema ("Sacred Death") is the solo project of Finnish neofolk renaissance man Mikko Pöyhönen (TERVAHÄÄT, TUHAT KUOLEMAA SEKUNNISSA). The music is sparse in outward appearance yet lush and emotionally rich, sometimes reminiscent of some of the darkest Americana such as TOWNES VAN ZANDT but very Scandinavian at its core, with themes deeply rooted in Finland's past and present.

Having debuted with the album Saavun vaikken kulkisi two years earlier, the second album Kevättuulisormi ("Spring Wind Finger") is Pyhä Kuolema's first for Svart Records. With Kevättuulisormi, Pyhä Kuolema eases its grip; the album tells of a still landscape, of building a home into a world which is not his own. The skeletal man with guitar has grown into rough neofolk schlager, which hails towards half-empty beer glasses and bursts of defiant laughter. This is dance without steps and wind without direction: the spring wind finger leafs through your pages!

Kevättuulisormi was recorded in Oulu, Finland in June 2013 at Katajan Kaiku Studios by Antti Haapapuro with vintage analog equipment. Kevättuulisormi will be available on CD, LP and digital download.

Kevättuulisormi tracklisting:

'Maamme laulu'
'Mustat virrat'
'Voisinko olla sun hautasi'
'Etäisyyksien välissä'
'Valkoinen nainen'
'Kaksi kitaa'
'Irlantilaiset lauseet'
'Sydämeni laulu'
'Katajan alla'
'Viestimiehen kuolema'
'Surmaajien surmaaja'

'Valkoinen nainen':

More on Pyhä Kuolema at Facebook.