MAD SEASON Members To Guest On Rockline

Rock Hard

Posted on Friday, April 05, 2013 at 12:33:16 EST

MAD SEASON members Mike McCready (PEARL JAM) and Barrett Martin (SCREAMING TREES) will be the featured guest on US nationally syndicated radio show Rockline with host Bob Coburn on April 15th at 8:30pm PT/11:30pm ET. Fans are encouraged to speak with the pair toll free at 1-800-344-ROCK (7625). For more information on finding a station near you and for information regarding how to log onto the internet broadcast go to The show will be streamed on the Rockline website for two weeks beginning the afternoon after the live broadcast.

Legacy Recordings - the catalogue division of Sony Music Entertainment - has released a newly expanded Deluxe Edition of Above, the first and only album to be completed by Seattle-based rock supergroup Mad Season. Formed in 1994, Mad Season also featured vocalist Layne Staley (ALICE IN CHAINS) and bassist John Baker Saunders (THE WALKABOUTS, LAMONT CRANSTON BAND).

The Deluxe Edition of Mad Season's Above is a three-disc set comprised of two CDs and one DVD. It includes the original studio album and a host of extras such as previously unreleased tracks from the band's unfinished second album with new lyrics and vocals by Mark Lanegan (Screaming Trees), full audio plus the first official DVD release of Mad Season's last show ever performed - Live At The Moore, an unreleased full concert video of the band's New Year's Eve performance from now-defunct Seattle club RKCNDY, a full-color collector's booklet and more.

In addition, there will be a 12" 2LP expanded edition vinyl available on Record Store Day, April 20th. Content featured in the Above Deluxe Edition will be available through iTunes with audio mastered for iTunes and a separate standalone longplay video.

Tracklisting for three-disc Mad Season Above Deluxe Edition

CD1 – Above tracklist
'Wake Up'
'X-Ray Mind'
'River of Deceit'
'I'm Above'
'Artificial Red'
'Lifeless Dead'
'I Don't Know Anything'
'Long Gone Day'
'November Hotel'
'All Alone'

Plus bonus tracks:
'Interlude' (previously unreleased)
'Locomotive '(lyrics/vocals by Mark Lanegan)
'Black Book Of Fear' (lyrics/vocals by Mark Lanegan)
'Slip Away' (lyrics/vocals by Mark Lanegan)
'I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier' (remix)

CD2 - Live at The Moore

Previously unreleased full audio set of Live at The Moore performance from Seattle, WA, April 29, 1995.
Includes 'Wake Up', 'Artificial Red', 'I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier', 'I'm Above' (featuring Mark Lanegan).

DVD - Live at The Moore + Bonus Footage

Full video set of the Live at The Moore performance from Seattle, WA performance, April 29, 1995. Remixed and remastered for 5.1 sound, and newly edited by director Duncan Sharp.

- Plus, more bonus footage, including a full concert of the band's performance from New Years Eve 1995 at RKCNDY in Seattle, and both performances from the Seattle-based Self-Pollution Radio specials, one newly edited.

A little back ground on Mad Season:

In 1994, four Seattle-based musicians decided to embark on a side-project that took them into new and different musical territory. Formed by Mike McCready, Layne Staley, Barrett Martin, and bluesman John Baker Saunders, the group went on to form Mad Season, which made one seminal album in the history of Seattle rock. That album, Above was released in 1995 and immediately struck a resonate chord with the public that sent the album into gold status within a few weeks. It is the only complete album of Layne Staley's introspective and mystical lyrics, which were highlighted by additional vocals from Screaming Trees vocalist Mark Lanegan and Seattle-based saxophonist/percussionist Skerik.

Mad Season was essentially Seattle's version of an extremely heavy blues band, anchored by the deep swinging rhythm section of Barrett's drums and Baker's bass lines, with Layne's haunting melodies and Mike's stadium-size guitar riffs soaring over the top. This unusual chemistry made the band absolutely unique in an era of post-grunge. In the almost 20 years since the original release of Above, new generations of music listeners have discovered the dark and lasting beauty of Mad Season.

In 1996, work began on a second Mad Season album with Mike, Barrett and Baker writing and recording the basic tracks for 15 new songs. Unfortunately, because of declining health, Layne wasn't able to make any of the recording sessions and the album was shelved. Fate subsequently took each musician in a different direction: Mike back to Pearl Jam and Barrett back to Screaming Trees. Tragically, both Baker (1999) and Layne (2002) passed away.

In 2012, the two remaining band members, Mike and Barrett, along with Above's original producer Brett Eliason, convened in Seattle to sift through the original magnetic tapes from that second album's sessions to revisit the unfinished songs. They called on Mark Lanegan to pen lyrics and sing on 3 of the best of those songs, including one co-written by Peter Buck of REM, which will be featured on the forthcoming reissue honoring the legacy of Layne and Baker.

More information about Mad Season can be found on