STRYPER - "The Drums Sound Massive!"

Hot Flashes

Posted on Tuesday, April 02, 2013 at 01:18:27 EST

STRYPER begin recording their eighth full length album today (April 2nd); they have checked in with a brief studio update:

"We got drum tones and started mapping songs for the new Stryper record. The drums sound massive! Tracking begins today..."

Frontman Michael Sweet recently posted the following message to the fans:

"I'd like to ask all of you to continue to pray for the band and the process of recording what we hope and pray will be our best and most powerful record to date. God is in control and He could take a band like us, a record like this, and do things that have never been done before. I've seen God work first hand and many things have happened over the years with Stryper that are nothing short of miraculous! I pray that this record will have the power, message and energy that all the others have had combined, so much so that it's undeniable to anyone that hears it.

People ask all the time if our faith is still intact, if we still believe, if we're still a Christian band and the answer is a loud n' clear - YES! More so than ever before.

We're a little tired, beat up and exhausted from the past 30 years but our heart's desire is to continue spreading God's love through the gifts, talents and abilities that He has blessed us with. God is leading the way, not any one of us.

God bless you for your undying support, belief and encouragement for all that we have done and all that we do.

This record can be our best record yet and we appreciate your prayers. We love you guys and could not have made it this far without you. Love and respect to all of you, always!!!

Stryper's new re-recorded collection, Second Coming, hit the streets on March 22nd in Europe and on March 26th in North America. The complete album can now be previewed via iTunes here.

The album features sixteen tracks, including new recordings of fourteen songs from the band’s early years as well as two brand new songs recorded especially for Second Coming, and is produced by Stryper frontman Michael Sweet.

Second Coming tracklisting:

'Loud N’ Clear'
'Loving You'
'Soldiers Under Command'
'Makes Me Wanna Sing'
'First Love'
'The Rock That Makes Me Roll'
'Reach Out'
'To Hell With The Devil'
'Calling On You'
'The Way'
'Sing Along Song'
'More Than A Man'
Bleeding From Inside Out' (new song)
'Blackened' (new song)

The first single - a new studio cut 'Bleeding From Inside Out' - was released on February 25th.

Sweet recently commented, “We're really excited about this record. The re-recorded songs are sounding awesome… better than the originals in many ways! One word to describe the record? Heavier. We've hooked up with some great people - we've got new management, a great album, a great label. We just feel like everything is coming together, and hopefully some big things are to follow."

Stryper is one of the top Christian rock bands of all time. Comprised of the original line-up of Michael Sweet (vocals/guitar), Oz Fox (guitar), Tim Gaines (bass), and Robert Sweet (drums), Stryper has been rocking since 1984, and is responsible for such '80s metal classic albums as Soldiers Under Command, To Hell With The Devil, In God We Trust and such MTV hit singles/videos as 'Calling On You', 'Free', and 'Honestly'.

After a sabbatical for much of the 1990's, Stryper returned strong in the early 21st century. To date, the band has sold upwards of 8 million records worldwide and is a Dove Award-winner and Grammy nominee. Stryper is the first band to have two songs in MTV’s Top 10 simultaneously.